17 JCPS Seniors Awarded Vogt Educational & Leadership Scholarship

Award recognizes students for academic achievements, leadership in & out of classroom

May 4, 2021 – Seventeen seniors from Jefferson County Public Schools (JCPS) have been awarded the 2021 Vogt Educational & Leadership Scholarship, which recognizes the students for their academic achievements and leadership in and out of the classroom. The students, who will each receive $12,000 toward college expenses, will be recognized during a virtual celebration that kicks off May 4 at noon on the district’s YouTube channel. 

Watch the celebration here.

Recipients of the scholarship are typically recognized with a luncheon, but this year’s virtual celebration is no less significant in what the achievement represents, according to JCPS Superintendent Dr. Marty Pollio.

“Excellence isn’t a skill – it’s an attitude. And you have all shown by your accomplishments that you have the right attitude to be successful in school and in life,” he said. “You are shining examples not only to your fellow students of the benefits of hard work and the opportunities it creates, but to our entire school community and city.”

Prior to his death in 1999, Henry V. Heuser Sr. established the endowed scholarship fund at the Community Foundation of Louisville to provide college scholarships annually to remarkable JCPS high school seniors. This special award honors exceptional students throughout Jefferson County who have demonstrated high standards of scholarship, leadership, character and citizenship. Including this year, more than $2.8 million has been awarded to 341 students.

His son, Henry Heuser Jr., has helped highlight the scholarship program every year since its inception. He said the award recognizes and helps “very bright, well balanced, students who are also leaders and who give unselfishly in community service.  These students compete with their mind, body and heart.”

Student winners are selected based on SAT/ACT scores and cumulative GPAs, as well as demonstrated community and campus leadership, participation in extracurricular activities, and recommendations from principals and community leaders.

The 2021 Vogt Educational & Leadership Scholarship recipients are:

  • Sophia Hammerbeck, Atherton High School
  • Madeline Greenbaum, Ballard High School
  • Lily Billings, J. Graham Brown School
  • Jacob Marsili, Butler Traditional High School
  • Erica McPheeters, Central High Magnet Career Academy
  • John Mejia, Doss High School
  • Mary Quirk, Eastern High School
  • Megan Jacobs, Fairdale High School
  • Eric Schneider, Fern Creek High School
  • Marelis Ruiz Romero, Iroquois High School
  • Christopher Showalter, Jeffersontown High School
  • Ricky Edwards, Louisville Male High School
  • Nimish Mathur, DuPont Manual High School
  • Emily Knapp, Pleasure Ridge Park High School
  • Robert Jackson, Seneca High School
  • Luci Price, Southern High School
  • Malelia Weller, Waggener High School