26 JCPS Teachers Earn National Board Certification

District now has 882 NBCTs

February 10, 2021 – Twenty-six educators from Jefferson County Public Schools (JCPS) earned teaching profession’s highest certification in 2020, obtaining the distinction by completing the intense and involved application process in an unprecedented year. This year’s class of National Board Certified Teachers (NBCT) in Kentucky will be honored for their achievement in a virtual ceremony on Thursday.

"I am so proud of each of these talented teachers,” said JCPS Superintendent Marty Pollio. “What they’ve been able to finalize and accomplish in these trying times is nothing short of amazing, and highlights their dedication and commitment to engaging and challenging their students, whether that lesson is taking place in a classroom or online.”

Obtaining National Board Certification is a lengthy, rigorous process that takes hundreds of hours of work and up to five years of commitment. Teachers must submit a detailed portfolio that includes examples of student work, ​indepth commentary reflecting on their practice and decision-making process, an outline of what teachers have done outside of the classroom to improve student achievement, and video recordings that show how they teach and interact with students. In addition, they must submit a reflective piece on student assessment and learning and then take a rigorous exam to demonstrate they have mastered the content of their chosen certification area. 

JCPS now has 882 nationally board certified teachers across the district.

Teachers in JCPS who obtained National Board Certification in 2020 include:

  • Sam Aguiar, teacher at Southern High School
  • Laura Aubrey, teacher at Auburndale Elementary School
  • Stephen Buchholz, resource teacher at Marion C. Moore School
  • Susan Butcher, teacher at Luhr Elementary School
  • Paula Cantu, teacher at Jacob Elementary School
  • Abby Dennison, teacher at Lassiter Middle School
  • Charity Devine, teacher at Eastern High School
  • Frances Fisher, teacher at Southern High School
  • Nikki Fisher, teacher at Ballard High School
  • Kathryn Fromholt, ECE elementary teacher at Heuser Hearing and Language Academy Whitney Gray, teacher at Lassiter Middle School
  • Lorie Hafling, teacher at Wheeler Elementary School
  • Matthew Haynes, teacher at Southern High School
  • Lindsey Henley, teacher at Auburndale Elementary
  • Megan Hildabrand, teacher at Central High School
  • Sarah Horton, teacher at Norton Commons Elementary
  • Shaley Ice, teacher at Norton Commons Elementary
  • Caleb Johnson, teacher at Central High School
  • Ashley Kaelin, teacher at Tully Elementary School
  • Alisa Keller, teacher at Byck Elementary School
  • Lindsay Kiefer, teacher at Rangeland Elementary School
  • Molly Lange, ESL resource teacher
  • Regan Miller, teacher at Chancey Elementary School
  • Olivia Roberts, teacher at Jeffersontown Elementary School
  • Sarah Robinson, librarian at Southern High School
  • Brooke Smith, teacher at Middletown Elementary School

The Recognition Ceremony for new NBCTs in Kentucky will be held from 1-3:30 p.m. on Thursday and will be hosted by Kentucky National Board Network president and JCPS resource teacher Sarah Yost. Click this link to watch the ceremony live.