37 JCPS Students Are National Merit Semifinalists

By Mark Hebert

September 21, 2023 - Thirty-seven Jefferson County Public Schools (JCPS) students are in the running for National Merit Scholarships. The 37 seniors have been named National Merit Semifinalists. The academically talented students have an opportunity to continue in the competition for some 7,140 National Merit Scholarships worth nearly $28 million that will be offered in the spring.

“Congratulations to these seniors who have earned this recognition,” said Dr. Marty Pollio, superintendent of JCPS. “Being a National Merit Semifinalist is a big deal. It’s also a reflection of the hard work these students have put in as well as the excellent JCPS teachers who have played a substantial role in their achievement and success.”

A Semifinalist must have an outstanding academic record throughout high school, be endorsed and recommended by a high school official, write an essay, and earn SAT or ACT scores that confirm the student’s earlier performance on the qualifying test.

The overwhelming majority of the 16,000 Semifinalists will advance to the Finalist level and be eligible for one of 2,500 National Merit $2500 Scholarships.  Another 4,640 scholarships are financed by corporations and business organizations or institutions of higher learning.

The National Merit Scholarship Corporation (NMSC) is a not-for-profit organization that operates the program without government assistance. Scholarships are underwritten by NMSC with its own funds and by approximately 320 business organizations and higher education institutions that share NMSC’s goals of honoring the nation’s scholastic champions and encouraging the pursuit of academic excellence.

Here is a list of the JCPS Semifinalists and their high schools:

Atherton High School

Eli Turner

Ballard High School

Jaxson Liening

duPont Manual High School

Nathan Anil

Jaci Baker Green

Elizabeth Bryant

Natalie L. Caragianis

Amy Chen

Riley Davis

Prasit Dhungyel

Elizabeth Howard

Sai Javvadi

Shraman Kar

Kayoung Kim

Ruth Kouokam Monoue

Richard Lian

Samuel B. Limbong

Kevin Lin

Henry E. Martin

Elena Medley

Weston Miller

Lee T. Nagel

Ashley Park

Arjun Parmar

Rishabh Ranjan

Felix F. Rogers

Nithin Senthilvel

Anvitha R. Srineni

Anirudh Srinivasan

Gopalaniruddh Tadinada

Ishani Tarkar

Aiden Vilo

Padmapriya Viswakumar

Elizabeth B. Wallace

Angela Wang

William Warms

Yolanda Xie

Eastern High School

Aaron J. McDonald