53 JCPS teachers obtain National Board Certification in 2017

471 educators in JCPS have obtained the highest possible certification in the teaching profession 

By Toni Konz Tatman | JCPS Communications

A total of 53 Jefferson County Public Schools teachers obtained the highest possible certification in the teaching profession in 2017, according to new data released this week by the National Board for Professional Teaching Standards.

middle school math teacher goes over assignment with student

"Congratulations to each of these talented, accomplished educators who are truly committed to their profession and to their students,” said JCPS Acting Superintendent Marty Pollio. “Obtaining National Board Certification is a lengthy, rigorous and voluntary process that, at the end of the day, provides a direct benefit to children in the classroom. Our National Board Certified teachers love their jobs—and they’re really, really good at them.”

There are now 471 nationally board certified teachers across the district.

The road to obtaining National Board Certification is difficult -- the process involves hundreds of hours of work and can take up to three years of commitment. It's also costly -- teachers pay approximately $2,000, although under a new contract agreement between JCPS and the Jefferson County Teachers Association, the district will reimburse up to 60 percent of that cost upon successful completion. 

Teachers must submit a detailed portfolio that includes examples of student work, an outline of what teachers have done outside of the classroom to improve student achievement and video recordings that show how they teach and interact with students. In addition, they must submit a reflective piece on student assessment and learning and then take a rigorous exam to demonstrate they have mastered the content of their chosen certification area. 

elementary teacher teaching children at chalkboard

Certification is offered in 25 different content areas and age ranges. Successful completion provides a bump in annual salary, plus a $2,000 annual salary supplement as long as they stay certified and continue to teach in their content area.

Officials say the success rate for certification varies from year to year, but about half of those who seek certification in the first year receive it. 

These are the teachers in JCPS who obtained National Board Certification in 2017:

Kayla Adams, Kenwood Elementary School

Mary-Adele Allison, Shacklette Elementary School

Rebecca Ames, Jeffersontown Elementary School

Kimberly Beckman, Eisenhower Elementary School 

April Board, Binet School

Jill Breitenstein, Fern Creek Elementary School

Paige Buckwalter (Barber), Coral Ridge Elementary School

Kristie Covington, Jeffersontown Elementary School

Jennifer Dowdy, Klondike Elementary School

Michael Duncan, Fern Creek Elementary School

Tiffany Dunn, Lassiter Middle School

Roberta Dunn (Heidorf), Kenwood Elementary School

Megan Fleming, Breckinridge-Franklin Elementary School 

Susan Fraser, Jeffersontown High School

Tina Gardner, Wheeler Elementary School

Melissa Goodall, Eastern High School

Mary Catherine Graham, Seneca High School

Jonathan Graham, Seneca High School

Heather Gray (Pickle), Wilt Elementary School

Rebecca Gunther, Auberndale Elementary School

Angela Haverstock, Wilt Elementary School

Molly Hazel-Skrodenis, Louisville Male High School

Rebecca Hickey, Trunnell Elementary School

Keith Highley, Fairdale Elementary School

Linda Jessee, Wilder Elementary School

Jessica Kaelin, Wilder Elementary School

Erin Kenney, Fern Creek High School

Daniel Kim, Louisville Male High School

Niki King, Engelhard Elementary School

Torri Martin, J. Graham Brown School

Jodi Meier, Breckinridge-Franklin Elementary School

Jennifer Miescke, ESL Resource Teacher

Kirstin Miller, ESL Newcomer Academy

Amy Moore, Engelhard Elementary School

Emily Munson, Norton Commons Elementary School

Kelly O'Riley, Western Middle School

Abigail Palof, Meyzeek Middle School

Neha Patel, St. Matthews Elementary School

Laura Peavley, Westport Middle School

Benjamin Powell, Jefferson County Traditional Middle School

Katlyn Raderstorf, Carter Traditional Elementary School

Heather Ransom, Auburndale Elementary School

Megan Reedy, Dunn Elementary School

Brandon Riddle, Seneca High School

Mary Brooke Schultz, Trunnell Elementary School

Amy Senior (Clifford), Atkinson Elementary School

Dawn Sexton, Watterson Elementary School

Heather Sharp, Conway Middle School

Amy Smith, Carter Traditional Elementary School

Susan Spencer, Cochran Elementary School

Shelley Taylor, Stopher Elementary School

Shelley Williams, Blue Lick Elementary School

Kara Young, Barret Traditional Middle School

Follow JCPS online on FacebookTwitterInstagram, and YouTube.