Hilliard Lyons Excellence Awards Honors JCPS Teachers and Principals

Awards ceremony recognizes outstanding teaching and leadership

Hilliard Lyons honored 52 teachers and principals of the Jefferson County Public School (JCPS) District during the fifth annual 2017 Hilliard Lyons Excellence Awards on April 27. The awards ceremony, sponsored by Louisville-based Hilliard Lyons, recognizes outstanding teaching and leadership performance from instructors across the district.

Hilliard Lyons CEO Jim Allen, Louisville Mayor Greg Fischer and JCPS Superintendent Donna Hargens provided remarks at the ceremony.

“Jefferson County is fortunate to have such dedicated educators in our public schools,” said James

Allen, CEO of Hilliard Lyons. “We are pleased to be able to recognize these leaders who show up every day, igniting sparks of curiosity and preparing our children for a lifetime of learning.”

"We are grateful to the teachers and principals who inspire the minds of Louisville’s youth daily,” said Mayor Fischer. “Hilliard Lyons is gracious to have created an annual platform that recognizes Jefferson County’s top educators and mentors for their efforts and achievements.”

Dr. Hargens noted, “Our teachers continue to provide an exceptional solid foundation for our students. It is an honor to work beside these men and women every day to ensure that our students leave JCPS prepared for the future and encouraged to reach their highest potential.”

The Hilliard Lyons Excellence Awards teacher recipients were nominated by principals (three were nominated by students), while the principal recipients were nominated by assistant superintendents.

A team of business and community leaders reviewed the nominations and selected the winners. Local universities, companies, and community organizations also partnered with the Hilliard Lyons Excellence Awards to present their own honorees.

Here are the 2017 Hilliard Lyons Excellence Awards recipients:

Principal Awards:

  • Jack F. Jacobs, Bloom Elementary School
  • Angela Hosch, Portland Elementary School
  • Jill Handley, Kenwood Elementary School
  • Austin Allain, Lowe Elementary School

Teacher Awards:

  • Allison Hunt, duPont Manual High School
  • Andrew Stein, Southern High School
  • Mary Eschels, Ballard High School
  • Margot Smith, Cochran Elementary School
  • Will Acree, Lassiter Middle School

Student-Nominated Awards:

  • EY High School Teacher Award: Dana Kelly, Central High School
  • McCarthy Strategic Solutions, LLC Middle School Teacher Award: Christopher Moyo, Olmsted Academy South
  • Zeon Elementary School Teacher Award: Mary Diemer, Hazelwood Elementary School

Goal Clarity Coaches:

  • Mary Frances Landenwich, J. Graham Brown School
  • Katherine LaDuke, Doss High School

Professional Learning Communities (PLCs):

  • Cochran Elementary School: Chavon Brown, Lauren Flowers, Neshaune Lasley, Lundi Vincent
  • Doss High School: Kathryn Volz, Scott Block, Kayla Byrd, Gerard Garrett
  • Phoenix School of Discovery: Heather Levinson, Leslie Spillman, Kathleen Belanger
  • Meyzeek Middle School: Rachel Klein, Abigail Palof, Kelli Lamaster, Chris Rasheed
  • Waggener High School: Kara Ammerman, Andrew Thomas, Sarah Nordmann, Emily Hixon, John Pedigo,
  • Rhonda Jacobs, Angela Mayo, Luke Schmoll, Aaron Sauter, Luke Paschall

Community Partnership Awards:

  • Audwin and Rae Helton Teacher Award: Tamika Carr, J. Graham Brown School
  • Audwin and Rae Helton Teacher Award: Allana Thompkins, J. Graham Brown School
  • Bellarmine University Teacher Award: Ray Krause, duPont Manual High School
  • Class Act Federal Credit Union Award: Gregory King, Dixie Elementary School
  • Fund for the Arts Teacher Award: Harlina Churn-Diallo, Lincoln Performing Arts School
  • Jefferson Community & Technical College Teacher Award: Mirac Ozkir, ESL Newcomer Academy
  • Junior Achievement Award: Ryan Gilliland, Ballard High School
  • Kentucky Science Center Award: Linda Ann Wrins-Ryan, Lowe Elementary School
  • Metro United Way Early Care and Education Award: Jimmy Wathen, Dawson Orman Education Center
  • Metro United Way Out-of-School Time Leadership Award: Alex Brown, Byck Elementary School
  • Unistar Family Resource/Youth Services Center Coordinator Award: Doug Lucas, Olmsted Academy North
  • University of Louisville Teacher Award: Leslie Mangum, Cochran Elementary School
  • YMCA Award for Youth Development: Allyson Vitato, Norton Commons Elementary School