District 1: Diane Porter

head shot
Diane Porter was appointed by former Kentucky Education Commissioner Terry Holliday to the Jefferson County Board of Education (JCBE) in June 2010. She was elected to serve District 1 in November 2010.

She is a graduate of the Louisville Public School System and the University of Louisville (UofL). Her professional public education experience is vast, having served for nearly 40 years as a teacher, guidance counselor, assistant principal, principal, and central office administrator. She retired in October 2009 as director of Career/Workforce Education and the district's School-to-Career Program. Porter has also been a JCPS parent, as her daughter is a JCPS graduate.

Contact Diane Porter

Address: P.O. Box 34020, Louisville, KY 40232-4020
Phone: (502) 485-3566
Email: porterschoolboard@gmail.com

District 1 Schools


  • Atkinson Academy
  • Brandeis Elementary
  • Breckinridge-Franklin Elementary
  • Brown School
  • Byck Elementary
  • Carter Traditional Elementary
  • Cochran Elementary
  • Coleridge-Taylor Montessori Elementary
  • Engelhard Elementary
  • Foster Traditional Academy
  • Kennedy Montessori Elementary
  • King Elementary
  • Lincoln Elementary Performing Arts
  • Maupin Elementary
  • McFerran Preparatory Academy
  • Portland Elementary
  • Roosevelt-Perry Elementary
  • Shelby Traditional Academy
  • Wheatley Elementary
  • Young Elementary


  • Academy @ Shawnee, The
  • Brown School
  • Johnson Traditional Middle
  • Meyzeek Middle
  • Noe Middle
  • Western Middle School for the Arts


  • Academy @ Shawnee, The
  • Brown School
  • Central High School Magnet Career Academy (MCA)
  • DuPont Manual High


  • Ackerly
  • Ahrens Educational Resource Center
  • Dawson Orman Education Center
  • DuValle Education Center
  • Heuser Hearing and Language Academy
  • Home of the Innocents Discovery
  • Home of the Innocents Weinberg Academy
  • JCPSeSchool
  • Jefferson County High
  • Louisville Metro Youth Center
  • UofL PACT Program
  • Western Day Treatment
  • Youth Performing Arts School (YPAS)